Just Plain Ol’ Fear and Uncertainty

5 Nov

 

WIN_20131105_064915

 

I am afraid that I have nothing clever to say, here.  No insights that reveal something about me or an important lesson about dealing with cancer, today–not that I have ever really achieved those things in this blog.  This is just a reminder that Thursday afternoon I see the oncologist to learn the results of my biopsy.  I continue to pray that the phone does not ring between now and then with unexpected news, and that when I do see the Dr. the news is expected, likely unpleasant, and bearable, as opposed to completely unpleasant and unbearable.  It is truly amazing how low the bar is set for what I consider lucky,right now.  If you are praying, or hoping, or wishing people, please join me in this hope and prayer.  I need the support right now.  

6 Responses to “Just Plain Ol’ Fear and Uncertainty”

  1. Heather Daly November 5, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

    Eric, I am sending many healing thoughts your way. You have a loving family and friends and you can get through this. Try to stay calm and you are in my thoughts.

  2. Laura Wynne November 5, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

    Erik, I wish for the best results possible and know you and your family are strong if otherwise and hope all of you know so many of us have positive thoughts on and off blogs and facebook.

  3. aprilfalast November 6, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    Hang in there, Erik. I was playing the waiting game in September and I remember being terrified. Xanax was my friend back then. I just tried to focus on my kids as much as possible and that seemed to help.

    • erikgreenberg November 6, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

      Hi April,

      Thanks. And from what I can tell from your blog, congratulations on the success of your treatment. I will continue to keep you and your progress in my thoughts and prayers. I am trying to understand more about you and your treatment. Do you PMDBL? Why have your treatments been in the hospital when so many treatments these days are outpatient? Any insight you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

      E

      • aprilfalast November 6, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

        Hi Erik,

        The type of lymphoma I have (ALL) is curable, but it requires an intense chemotherapy regimen. The day after I was diagnosed, I was admitted to the hospital to begin the chemo. I think it was mostly so they could keep me under observation to make sure I didn’t have any bad reactions to the drugs. Initially, I was told I would be in there for 3 weeks, but I was doing well, so I was discharged after only 9 days to continue my treatments outpatient. However, 5 days later, my white blood cell count got very low (typical during chemo) and I developed an infection which earned me another 7 days in the hospital. Most of my chemo is administered at a cancer center near my home, but occasionally, I have to have spinal injections which have to be done in the hospital.

        Sorry, but I don’t know what PMDBL means.

        If you have other specific questions I can answer, let me know!

        Cheers,

        April

  4. Ann Marshall November 7, 2013 at 6:45 am #

    You got it, Erik! I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow and hoping the news is better than bearable!

Leave a Reply

