Getting Back Up on the Horse: Seeking a Favor as I Come to Terms With My Impending Surgery

11 Mar

 

keepcalm

Recently I confessed my deep-seated fears about my upcoming surgery and the possible news that might accompany it.  I told my friends across the electronic spectrum that I was scared…REALLY REALLY scared.  Indeed, I had been so scared, that I had basically abandoned so many of the things I do to keep gather my courage and keep my fears at bay.–like blogging, meditating, eating well, etc.  

Soon after sharing my fears, though, I was engulfed in good wishes and words of support.  All of the comments on Facebook, the occasional phone calls, e-mails, and other good wishes convinced me to get back up on my horse–to engage in the practices that have helped me get to this point as sane as I can be.  One note, in particular, from a friend of a friend, really helped.  She told me of Peggy Huddleston’s imaging work to prepare for surgery and heal faster.  I really took to Huddleston’s ideas and have been doing the imagery religiously for almost three days now.  It helps…so does upping my Ativan from once a day to twice, but Huddleston’s ideas REALLY, REALLY help.

With that in mind, I would like to ask all of you to participate in a little exercise from Huddleston’s work.  Best I can tell, my surgery will take place at 8 am Pacific Time  on Wednesday morning.  I would greatly appreciate it if about a half hour before, you start to think about me from time to time and maybe say a little prayer.  While I have no idea if this particular exercise works, it surely couldn’t hurt.  So please keep me in mind and pray for me.

Wednesday I will try to post something quickly on Facebook as soon as I get my phone back.  Then, if I have the strength and presence of mind, I will write something more detailed that afternoon or evening.

Stay tuned, and know that your care and concern means the world to me.  I am truly surrounded by love.

Thanks,

3 Responses to “Getting Back Up on the Horse: Seeking a Favor as I Come to Terms With My Impending Surgery”

  1. Angel March 11, 2014 at 3:11 am #

    Will do so.

  2. Crystal Robbins March 11, 2014 at 4:07 pm #

    You got it. Am thinking about you and sending lots of love every day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sisyphus and the 8 cm Tumor | Limbo - March 20, 2014

    […] Interestingly enough, one of my rabbi friends (like I said in my last post, I seem to know a lot of rabbis) predicted that something like this might happen.  I was talking to him just before my surgery.  I was lamenting how meeting my surgeon and being told, again, that I may have cancer had unmoored me.  I was stunned at how fragile I was.  “All of that work, I did, the eating better, the meditating, the Tai Chi, that was all bullshit,” I said.  After all, one stressful visit to a doctor and I had ceased to engage in most of those activities (See my previous post, Getting Back Up on the Horse). […]

Leave a Reply

